AdWords
3.9K members online now
3.9K members online now
Use AdWords conversion tracking and reporting to measure your results. Have a question about Google Analytics? Post it here, on the Google Analytics Community!
Guide Me
star_border

404 sitelink extensions

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Have set up a replacement website for a client and have quite a few redirected pages which all seem to work ok.

However the client was using a company to manage his Adwords campaign which I am not very experienced with. 

Checking the Adwords links in Google delivers several 404 errors on the sitelink extensions which are shown beneath the main URL.

The client has asked me to fix these issues, as he is no longer using the company that set them up.

If I log in and edit each advert and change the 'final url' to the correct (non-redirected) page will this muck up the tracking code, it also looks like any edited adverts also have to be resubmitted.

My knowledge of Adwords is very limited and there are quite a few ads that seem to need updating due to the Adword URL's not redirecting correctly.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Ewen C
September 2015

Re: 404 sitelink extensions

Badged Google Partner
# 5
Badged Google Partner

@Ewen C wrote:

Will it be best to go through the problem ads and just manually update the "Final url' for each one, and then resubmit?

Ewen,

Recently the system updated and all url's should have been automatically migrated to the final URL.  If you need to change a Landing page destination because the 301 is not working then YES, it is best to make those corrections.

This is what I would do.  Pause the Problem ad in question so you maintain that history as a record.  Create a new copy of that Ad with the proper URL and mark it as Final destination.

View solution in original post

Badged Google Partner
# 2
Badged Google Partner

Ewen