AdWords
2.3K members online now
2.3K members online now
Understand Google's advertising policies, including ad approval status and account suspension
Guide Me
star_border
Reply

Worst customer service ever experienced in regards to advertising

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Before you start reading let me explain the background behind this story.

 

I received a coupon from Google saying to use Adwords.

 

They then spammed me several times to use the coupon. So I decided to use it a few days ago.

 

I live in Canada and operate in Canada. I just happen to be in Europe on vacation.

 

When I set up my google ad words they (unknowingly) redirected me to google UK but I didn't think it really mattered.

 

Anyhow, I spent a good 30 mins setting up my keywords, provided my code, my CREDIT CARD INFO and PERSONAL INFORMATION only to have a message appear that my account was suspended.

 

So now that google has all my personal information and I received nothing out of it, I decided to ask them WHY it was suspended.

 

Here is the fantastic customer service the Google Ad word team provided (Small font is them, large font is me)

 

 

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dear Advertiser,

We're sorry to hear that you're experiencing difficulties with your AdWords account.

We’d like to let you know that your account is currently under review and we’re prioritizing this over other issues you may have written to us about. Our Specialists already know about this issue, and an investigation is underway. We periodically review accounts for security purposes and to verify billing information. We'll send you an update after the investigation is complete, typically within three business days.

Once we provide you with an update, please feel free to reply to this email if you have any questions regarding your AdWords account or contact us through 

Sincerely,

The Google AdWords Team

------------

This email and the information it contains are confidential and may be privileged. If you have received this email in error, please notify me immediately. You should not copy it for any purpose, or disclose its contents to any other person. Internet communications are not secure and, therefore, Google does not accept legal responsibility for the contents of this message as it has been transmitted over a public network. If you suspect the message may have been intercepted or amended, please contact us.

 

 

Dear Advertiser, Thank you for your email.

We've reviewed your account and found that it unfortunately doesn't comply with the following promotional credit requirements:

- The promotional coupon is non-transferable and may not be sold or bartered.
- One promotional credit per customer.
- A promotional code can only be used in the territory where it's originally distributed.

To review our promotional credit requirements, please see:

As a result, your account and any related accounts you may have created have been suspended. Your ads will no longer run on Google.

NEXT STEPS

1. If you're a prepay customer and have a balance remaining on your account, please visit to learn how to request a refund for the remaining balance. Any service adjustments are non-refundable.

2. We don't allow any form of trading promotional codes. If you use additional promotional coupons that violate the policies outlined above, your new accounts will be permanently suspended, and you won't be able to open new accounts.

Google only distributes free promotional codes to new AdWords advertisers directly or via authorised third parties, such as our Google Certified Partners, at our discretion.

Google maintains a high standard for the quality of our advertisements and user experience. The Terms and Conditions you accepted when you signed up for AdWords state that Google reserves the right to review and stop running any ads when necessary. Please visit  to review our Terms and Conditions.

For privacy reasons, we're unable to provide any additional information regarding this account. Thank you for your understanding.

If you have additional questions on this topic, please reply to this email. We will get back to you within three business days. For other issues, please contact us through . Sincerely, The Google AdWords Team This email and the information it contains are confidential and may be privileged. If you have received this email in error, please notify me immediately. You should not copy it for any purpose, or disclose its contents to any other person. Internet communications are not secure and, therefore, Google does not accept legal responsibility for the contents of this message as it has been transmitted over a public network. If you suspect the message may have been intercepted or amended, please contact us.

 

 

You didn't explain why it was suspended. Since I am oversees you decide to suspend my account because google automatically detects the region I am in? I used the same code I was given in my email.your auto response email shows how little you reviewed my mcase bbefore making a decision

 

Hello,



Thank you for your email.

This message was sent from a notification-only email address that does not accept incoming email. Please do not reply to this message. In future, we recommend that you contact us via our AdWords Help Center, by clicking on the ‘Contact Us’ link.

The most efficient way to find answers to AdWords-related questions is by using the following online resources:

- The AdWords Help Center, which offers answers to commonly asked questions about AdWords, as well as helpful information about how to use all AdWords features and functions. Visit the Help Center at:

- The AdWords Help Forum, where you can find answers to questions posted by other advertisers (you can also post your own questions here). Visit the AdWords Help Forum at 

- The online AdWords Learning Center, which offers in-depth training to help you get the best results from your AdWords advertising. Visit the AdWords Learning Center at

- The “Inside AdWords” blog, which provides the latest information about new feature releases, optimization tips, and upcoming AdWords events. Visit the AdWords blog at:

If you are unable to find an answer to your question by searching or browsing the above resources, please feel free to post your question in the AdWords Help Group or contact us via the "Contact Us" link in the Help Center or in your account.

When using the Contact Us form, please submit all required information. This will help us provide a faster and more accurate response. Again, please don’t respond directly to this email, as this email address will not be monitored; to contact us, please use the above options.

 

Dear Advertiser,

We're sorry to hear that you're experiencing difficulties with your AdWords account.

We’d like to let you know that your account is currently under review and we’re prioritizing this over other issues you may have written to us about. Our Specialists already know about this issue, and an investigation is underway. We periodically review accounts for security purposes and to verify billing information. We'll send you an update after the investigation is complete, typically within three business days.

Once we provide you with an update, please feel free to reply to this email if you have any questions regarding your AdWords account or contact us through 



Sincerely,

The Google AdWords Team
 
Dear Advertiser, Thank you for your email.

We've reviewed your account and found that it unfortunately doesn't comply with the following promotional credit requirements:

- The promotional coupon is non-transferable and may not be sold or bartered.
- One promotional credit per customer.
- A promotional code can only be used in the territory where it's originally
distributed.

To review our promotional credit requirements, please see:


As a result, your account and any related accounts you may have created have been suspended. Your ads will no longer run on Google.

NEXT STEPS

1. If you're a prepay customer and have a balance remaining on your account, please visit to learn how to request a refund for the remaining balance. Any service adjustments are non-refundable.


2. We don't allow any form of trading promotional codes. If you use additional promotional coupons that violate the policies outlined above, your new accounts will be permanently suspended, and you won't be able to open new accounts.

Google only distributes free promotional codes to new AdWords advertisers directly or via authorized third parties, such as our Google Certified Partners, at our discretion.

Google maintains a high standard for the quality of our advertisements and user experience. The Terms and Conditions you accepted when you signed up for AdWords state that Google reserves the right to review and stop running any ads when necessary. Please visit  to review our Terms and Conditions.


For privacy reasons, we're unable to provide any additional information regarding this account. Thank you for your understanding.

If you have additional questions on this topic, please reply to this email. We will get back to you within three business days. For other issues, please contact us through Sincerely, The Google AdWords Team This email and the information it contains are confidential and may be privileged. If you have received this email in error, please notify me immediately. You should not copy it for any purpose, or disclose its contents to any other person. Internet communications are not secure and, therefore, Google does not accept legal responsibility for the contents of this message as it has been transmitted over a public network. If you suspect the message may have been intercepted or amended, please contact us.

 

 

PLEASE STOP SENDING ME THE SAME AUTOMATIC RESPONSE AND ACTUALLY READ MY CASE.

I HAVE NOT VIOLATED ANY TERMS. THIS IS SOLELY A PROBLEM ON YOUR END AND HAVE SUSPENDED MY ACCOUNT COMPLETELY.
PLEASE STOP SENDING ME THE SAME AUTOMATIC RESPONSE. I HAVE RECEIVED IT SO MANY TIMES IT IS FILLING MY INBOX
PLEASE STOP SENDING ME THE SAME AUTOMATIC RESPONSE. I HAVE RECEIVED IT SO MANY TIMES IT IS FILLING MY INBOX 
Dear Advertiser, Thank you for your email.

We've reviewed your account and found that it unfortunately doesn't comply with the following promotional credit requirements:

- The promotional coupon is non-transferable and may not be sold or bartered.
- One promotional credit per customer.
- A promotional code can only be used in the territory where it's originally
distributed.

To review our promotional credit requirements, please see:

As a result, your account and any related accounts you may have created have been suspended. Your ads will no longer run on Google.

NEXT STEPS

1. If you're a prepay customer and have a balance remaining on your account, please visit to learn how to request a refund for the remaining balance. Any service adjustments are non-refundable.

2. We don't allow any form of trading promotional codes. If you use additional promotional coupons that violate the policies outlined above, your new accounts will be permanently suspended, and you won't be able to open new accounts.

Google only distributes free promotional codes to new AdWords advertisers directly or via authorized third parties, such as our Google Certified Partners, at our discretion.

Google maintains a high standard for the quality of our advertisements and user experience. The Terms and Conditions you accepted when you signed up for AdWords state that Google reserves the right to review and stop running any ads when necessary. Please visit  to review our Terms and Conditions.

For privacy reasons, we're unable to provide any additional information regarding this account. Thank you for your understanding.

If you have additional questions on this topic, please reply to this email. We will get back to you within three business days. For other issues, please contact us through  Sincerely, The Google AdWords Team This email and the information it contains are confidential and may be privileged. If you have received this email in error, please notify me immediately. You should not copy it for any purpose, or disclose its contents to any other person. Internet communications are not secure and, therefore, Google does not accept legal responsibility for the contents of this message as it has been transmitted over a public network. If you suspect the message may have been intercepted or amended, please contact us.
Whatever I'm taking my business elsewhere
Thanks for nothing
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I've dealt with many advertising avenues but this is far the worst managed and most automated system I have come across.
I might as well send them pictures of ascii cats and will receive the same response over and over
I don't expect anything back and don't wish to do business with you in regards to advertising anymore. 
Please improve your customer service otherwise you'll be losing more customers.


1 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by RachelM (Google Employee)
September 2015

Re: Worst customer service ever experienced in regards to advertising

Zee Community Manager
Community Manager
# 8
Zee Community Manager
Community Manager
Hi mcmaxx,

My colleague from the support team reached out to you yesterday. As per your forum note, we will not send you another email. You can reach out to us if you wish to via 'Contact AdWords' button in the upper right hand corner.

Thanks,
Zee
G+

View solution in original post

Re: Worst customer service ever experienced in regards to advertising

Google Employee
# 2
Google Employee
Hi Mcmaxx,

I will not sugar-coat things, you probably don't need that.

The Team will look into this, from Monday though...

E
Yes, I work at Google. I want all AdWords Advertisers to be happy and prosperous

Re: Worst customer service ever experienced in regards to advertising

128
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆
# 3
128
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆

Yeah, it doesn't feel very good to think that no one's listening when something like this happens. Especially if this is your first experience with Adwords. I can certainly relate to feeling unheard, but they're are just making sure people aren't abusing the system. And that diligence is what allows them to continue to give every newcomer a fair chance to test out Adwords free for themselves. It's unfortunate you weren't able to do so, but you should know that it is in your best interest (although it might not seem that way) that they spend time to investigate these discrepencies.

 

I wouldn't give up on Adwords just yet. They've always went out of their way to make things right in the past, and I'm sure when they're back in the office they will be happy to fix whatever issues you're having.

 

Also unless it's not within business hours, I would always recommend calling over emailing. I would also suspect that they deal with tens of thousands of people trying to scam the coupon system, and it may be unfeasible to pay someone to treat every situation on a case by case basis.

 

Hope they are able to refund the money you have lost. Good luck.

Re: Worst customer service ever experienced in regards to advertising

Zee Community Manager
Community Manager
# 4
Zee Community Manager
Community Manager

Hi 128

 

I'm sorry to hear about your issue. Somobody from the support team will search out to you soon to get more details. 

 

Thanks,

Zee
G+

Re: Worst customer service ever experienced in regards to advertising

128
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆
# 5
128
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆

I have no problems what-so-ever with Adwords. Love it in fact. Reach out to mcmaxx though please. Smiley Wink

 

Thanks

Re: Worst customer service ever experienced in regards to advertising

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 6
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi

 

For anyone who continued to read

 

They sent me about 3 more emails, from 2 different representatives (Some "Senior", whatever that means) and they all said they'd 'investigate' my account.

 

I then received another generic email as stated below. Just as cryptic as the emails above and did not explain how in the world I violated adwords policy.

 

Just to clarify my position

- I used a code from Canada while in Europe

- This was my FIRST ever ad word campaign for this site or ANY site I've ever made.

- Received very many useless auto-generated emails.

 

I recommend to others that you avoid Google adwords due to this customer service and look for alternatives. For my purposes reddit provided easier to use ads with also better market-targeting. It was also much cheaper than what Google ad words provides . Reddit provided 3 days of ads in a targeted market for 30$ a day and I received well over 900 hits a day (Imagine the cost of Google adwords for this)

 

Below is the final auto generated email. Note once again how it was automatically generated and the only real human contact I got was something along the lines of 'Please wait while we take up more of your time and reject your adwords account'

 

I never was really interested with Google adwords but the coupon made it a bit interesting

 

Take care and good luck

 

Thank you for your continued patience during the review process. I understand your frustration and I'm really sorry for that. 
However, our specialists have re-reviewed your account and have determined that our decision for the account suspension is correct and final. Your account has not complied with our Terms and Conditions. 

Our support team is unable to provide any further information on this matter. Please refrain from creating additional AdWords accounts, as they will be subject to the same suspension.

The AdWords Terms and Conditions state that Google reserves the right to stop running any ads when deemed necessary. You can review these Terms and Conditions here: 

We appreciate your cooperation and thank you for your understanding. Sorry for the inconvenience caused.
Sincerely,

The Google Adwords Team

Re: Worst customer service ever experienced in regards to advertising

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 7
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Nice, got another email saying the exact same rejection as before 

 

How come your team is so disconnected and have to send me the same automated email 3x rejecting me?

 

Honestly, it was a re-rejection from TWO different people of the same adwords team

 

Will you stop making me feel like a criminal and stop sending me emails. I'm sick and tired of having to check my emails and read these insulting comments

 

I did nothing wrong but try to use your service but received over 20 emails so far of pure rejection

 

I AM NO LONGER INTERESTED PLEASE STOP EMAILING ME

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by RachelM (Google Employee)
September 2015

Re: Worst customer service ever experienced in regards to advertising

Zee Community Manager
Community Manager
# 8
Zee Community Manager
Community Manager
Hi mcmaxx,

My colleague from the support team reached out to you yesterday. As per your forum note, we will not send you another email. You can reach out to us if you wish to via 'Contact AdWords' button in the upper right hand corner.

Thanks,
Zee
G+

Re: Worst customer service ever experienced in regards to advertising

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 9
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Welcome to the club. Don't understand why they are doing this and think it is very strange that they refuse to explain why.

Jost copied robot answers according to...

Re: Worst customer service ever experienced in regards to advertising

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 10
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
Does this text seem familiar?
Thank you for your continued patience during this process. Our specialists have re-reviewed your accounts and have determined that our decision is correct and final. As a result, your account, and any related accounts you may have created, have been suspended.

NEXT STEPS

- Our support team is unable to provide any further information on this matter.

- Please refrain from creating additional AdWords accounts, as they will be subject to the same suspension.

The AdWords Terms and Conditions state that Google reserves the right to stop running any ads when deemed necessary. You can review these Terms and Conditions here: https://adwords.google.com/select/tsandcsfinder.

We appreciate your cooperation and thank you for your understanding.

Wonder how many seconds the AdWords team spend on each case they handle?
And I also find it completely incomprehensible that AdWords offer free comersials and then trow paying customers out their business, when they use them.  Any other business would correct the misunderstanding and continue the cooperation.
Would it not be better to withdraw the free offer and send a POLITE letter to costumers who accedently have broken one of AdWords' innumerable rules, instead of treating the faulty victims like criminals?
I think it would be a great help to many ex- paying AdWords costumers if somebody would take the time needed to answer these questions. Prior thanks.