AdWords
2.5K members online now
2.5K members online now
Understand Google's advertising policies, including ad approval status and account suspension
Guide Me
star_border

The Adwords policy reporting system is useless. Let me explain why.

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
Hi! I am quite new to adwords, and in my effort to learn how to use it I have made some discoveries. I have been particuallary interested in how Google can handle the amount of requests they are getting every day and how they manage to get people to follow their adwords network guidelines.

A while ago I noticed this ad. The ad URL says www.estaunitinfo.com.
I clicked the link and was redirected to this site: www.estausavisa.com.

According to the adwords guidelines the landing page should be the same as the ad URL as stated in this policy: https://support.google.com/adwordspolicy/answer/6021546

As the url changes from estaunitinfo.com to estausavisas.com this is a violation so I reported this as a breach in the policies. (Also I noticed that if I clicked "open link in a new tab" the url changed to estausvisas.com. No A in usa). In addition I am not sure if they are violating the policy about misrepresentation as well according to this policy:

This is how I understand Google is "policing" their network. With the help of the public.

A few weeks later I decided to see if the ad was still active after I had reported it. To see the effect of my report. I did the same search, but I could not find an ad for estaunitinfo, but this ad showed up.

The ad is the same, but now the URL (now: estavisasinfo.com) had changed. It also still redirects to estausavisa.com. Again I reported them as I suspected them to use some sort of cloacking as well as the same reasons as the first report.

Now out of personal interest I tested the URL in the first ad: estaunitinfo.com in the browser because I wanted to see if it still redirects to estausavisa.com. Now this page showed up: