AdWords
3.9K members online now
3.9K members online now
Understand Google's advertising policies, including ad approval status and account suspension
Guide Me
star_border
Reply

Suspended for Hair Care Product

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

My website is www.sleekhair.com .  We were suspended for selling a hair care shampoo that straightens your hair; it violates their pharmceutical policy.  After we received the warning, we removed it from our website.  However, having a Yahoo! Store, it takes 3-4 days to generate a publish to remove the product (yahoo merchant solutions can confirm this).  After our website published, we were one day too late.  Google already suspended our account and said that we can never advertise on Google again and to search for other marketing avenues. They said the "suspension is permanent".  The product in quesiton is a shampoo:

 

http://www.amazon.com/Brazillian-Blowout-Anti-Frizz-Shampoo-350ml/dp/B008H5GGGM/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&q...

 

Amazon continues to sell and advertise this product today. 

 

It is crazy that they can suspend your account for a shampoo, and there are no ways to "resubmit" your website.  We have tried calling and emailing them to take a look at our website to confirm that it is removed, however they refuse to listen and keep saying it is permanent.  

 

Please help.

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Suspended for Hair Care Product

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Nice site! (Though my shampoo is not cheap... Smiley Tongue )

I will refer the case to Google, asking for a recheck;

Moshe, AdWords Top Contributor , Twitter | Linkedin | Community Profile | Ad-Globe
Did you find any helpful responses or answers to your query? If yes, please mark it as the ‘Best Answer’

Re: Suspended for Hair Care Product

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Any advice on asking for a recheck?  I tried calling and emailing with no luck. I would call Adwords and they would escalate it to the Policy Team, but everytime they say the ban is permanent without rechecking.  

Re: Suspended for Hair Care Product

Top Contributor
# 4
Top Contributor

I have asked.

Wait for a communication from Google;

Watch your email. (The one used to log into your account)

Moshe, AdWords Top Contributor , Twitter | Linkedin | Community Profile | Ad-Globe
Did you find any helpful responses or answers to your query? If yes, please mark it as the ‘Best Answer’

Re: Suspended for Hair Care Product

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 5
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello again, 

 

I would like to thank you for assisting me on this matter.  We have not received a response from Google regarding this matter and I was wondering if you can assist on escalating it further.  We are a small, but growing business thriving in a down economy before the adwords suspension.  Our company is driven by a strong set of employee and customer-centric core values that includes honesty, communication, and transparency.  We sell hair care products (shampoo, conditioner, styling products and nail polish) and we are not trying to "hide" or "divert" Google customers into thinking anything otherwise. We are not trying to violate their terms or policies and have taken many corrective actions to prevent any future violations regarding hair care ingredients that may violate Google terms. This Adwords suspension has severely hindered our ability to prosper including loss of employement, stagnation, and can lead to eventual collapse.  I truly regret how much emphasis we put into a single marketing channel (Adwords).  If you can have Google take a look at my website again, our company would be extremely grateful.  Thank you.

Re: Suspended for Hair Care Product

Top Contributor
# 6
Top Contributor

Hmm.. Weird...

Records show that the discussion was escalated to Google on Feb 13th.  Please heck again your incoming mail (= the email address used to login into your Adwords account). Check also the spam folder.

 

Let me know. If no communication, I will refer the case again.

 

 

Moshe, AdWords Top Contributor , Twitter | Linkedin | Community Profile | Ad-Globe
Did you find any helpful responses or answers to your query? If yes, please mark it as the ‘Best Answer’

Re: Suspended for Hair Care Product

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 7
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi, agains for your help.  I checked the main email address for Sleekhair's Adwords Account (including the spam folder), however there has not been a response.  Can you please refer the case again to the appropiate person.

 

Thank you again.

 

Re: Suspended for Hair Care Product

Top Contributor
# 8
Top Contributor

I referred the case again to Google

Moshe, AdWords Top Contributor , Twitter | Linkedin | Community Profile | Ad-Globe
Did you find any helpful responses or answers to your query? If yes, please mark it as the ‘Best Answer’

Re: Suspended for Hair Care Product

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 9
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi, again thank you for your assistance.   Google finally responded and they appear to not want to examine my website again.    The response is:

 

" When there are repeated violation of the same policy, like unapproved pharmaceutical products, then a final warning is sent saying that, if any further violation are found in the account, the account may be suspended immediately. In this case, since you had continued inserting ads which are promoting unapproved pharmaceutical products, after the final warning was sent, your account was suspended. Therefore Andrew, I'm really sorry to inform you that unfortunately we will be unable to unsuspended your account. "

 

We have always complied with Google policies and whenever they sent us notices to remove ads from our Adwords account, we have always complied.  Even though the notices were unclear as to which products were in violation, we have always been responsive with Google in complying.  We have never "continued to insert ads which are promoting unapproved" products.  With the case of the Brazilian Blowout, we were one day too late in removing the products from our website (due to our website being hosted by Yahoo Merchant Solutions, which they can confirm) .  We have over 20,000 hair care products on our website and we have no reason to try to "hide" or work around Google policies in order to promote 1 particular product, especially when it is a regular hair product, as with all of our products.  My company has also sent Google a lengthy email regarding the steps we have taken to prevent future occurances from happening again, however it appears Google does not want to that into consideration as well.  

 

Is there anything you can do to help?  Again, thank you for your help and time you have put in. 

 

Re: Suspended for Hair Care Product

Zee Community Manager
Community Manager
# 10
Zee Community Manager
Community Manager
Hi sleekhair,

I was informed that you were contacted by our AdWords Support specialists and he is trying to resolve your issue with Merchant Center feeds.

Thank you for your cooperation,
Zee
G+