AdWords
4.3K members online now
4.3K members online now
Understand Google's advertising policies, including ad approval status and account suspension
Guide Me
star_border

Non-Psychologists' ads appear when Googling "Psychologist"

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I am a licensed psychologist in CA and have an adwords campaign running.  If one Googles "psychiatrist" only psychiatrists show up.  If you Google "marital & family therapist" only MFTs show up.  If you Google "social worker" only social workers (LCSW) show up.  BUT, if you Google "psychologist" all sorts of folks who are NOT licensed psychologists show up!  Social workers (LCSW) ads appear.  Marital counselors (MFT) ads appear.  Even psychiatrist (MD) ads appear!  Why is this?  If I am paying every month to run an ad as a PSYCHOLOGIST, why is my ad diluted (it rarely shows up because so many of these other professionals ads compete with my ad) while I still pay the same monthly fee as an MFT, LCSW or MD?  On the other hand, how come my ad will not appear when one searches under the other professionals titles?  In California, it is improper to advertise oneself as a psychologist unless one has a license as a psychologist.  Is Google Adwords possibly inadvertently pushing non-psychologists' ads into a search error category that could perhaps be deemed as improper?  I do not know, but I do know that I am not pleased that a potential patient searching for a licensed psychologist often ends up seeing ads being placed by people who do not possess a license as a psychologist.  I don't think this is their fault.  I am guessing that it is caused by some error in Google's programming of ad word searches and needs to be corrected.  Perhaps the word "psychotherapy" (a procedure used by psychologists, psychiatrists, social workers and marital and family therapists) is not adequately separated from the word "psychologist"?  I don't know, but I hope AdWords will do something to correct this error.