AdWords
2.3K members online now
2.3K members online now
Understand Google's advertising policies, including ad approval status and account suspension
Guide Me
star_border

New business owner. Bought a bad domain. Account Suspended.

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

A cautionary tale for other new business owners.   I am new to this and made what seems a very simple mistake.  Hopefully this post will prevent others from doing the same.

Please help

In February, I set up a website for my business.  I purchased "AmiciUsa.com", thinking it would be a perfect domain name.  Along with my domain purchase, I received a coupon for $100 worth of free advertising on Google Ad Words.

I launched the site with the given domain, and created an Ad Words account, intending to use the credit to advertise.  That's when it all went wrong.

My campaign never ran due to policy violation errors.  It took me about a day with Google webmaster tools to determine that "AmiciUsa.com" was tagged in the Google system as a spam domain.

My response was to remove the campaign, acquire a new, spam-free domain, and begin again.  I decided to go slower and not use my Ad Words credit until I knew what I was doing.

Today, one month later, my Ad Words campaign (and my unused $100 credit) is suspended.  As far as I can tell, the old spam domain is still considered in violation of their policies, even though it is parked.

It took about 20 minutes to completely mess up my Ad Words account, and I never even got a single ad served.  My website was using the spam domain for less than 48 hours.

My questions are:

Is there any hope of recovering my suspended account and being able to use that credit to advertise my (non-policy violating) website?