AdWords
2.3K members online now
2.3K members online now
Understand Google's advertising policies, including ad approval status and account suspension
Guide Me
star_border

Competitor Double Serving - Need Advice

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I need some community advice.  I have reached out to Google regarding a competitor to a client I do a lot of business with.  I work in the sign industry and it is common for sites to feature "design online" functionality.  A particular competitor is abusing their position of owning multiple websites and consistently outbidding the top three search ad spots for our top keywords.  A sample image below shows pretty blatantly what I mean.

http://imgur.com/JU84Vam

Adwords Image

http://imgur.com/kFAFLcj

Addresses

As you can see the last two sites share the same exact mailing address and are pretty clearly reskinned and share functionality.  The 3rd (DIYL.com) has quite a bit different look but upon investigation oddly operates less than a mile away from the other two businesses (coincidence?).  

Upon a live chat with Google I was quite surprised after the rep did a quick investigation and told me over the chat that these companies do not violate the double serving policy.  The owners have cleverly registered each adwords account under unique names and phone numbers to skirt the rules.  They have also similarly created different phone numbers for each site (which is quite cheap and easy to do).  In my opinion all of the sites meet the common product offering requirement along with at least 2 of them offering a similar support experience.  It would be questionable on the similar pricing requirement as everything is calculated, in order to establish this it would take some deeper digging by google.  Some prices are in fact within the 25% threshold.  In the end it appears this company might have possibly taken this niche website spawning strategy simply to dominate the adwords results.